Soccer Rule Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Soccer Referee Questions on Soccer Rules

Welcome to
a Soccer Law Question and Answer site. Providing answers to questions regarding soccer laws since October 11, 1999

June 8, 2020 - Unfortunately we have had server problems, meaning that questions and answers from May 22 to June 8, 2020 were lost. Please accept our apologies if your query and its answer are missing.

To ask a question click Ask the Ref and pose your question and the panel will reply.

Those who have ideas or articles please feel free to contact the editor Richard Dawson at with suggestions.

Over the past 20 years we have amassed tens of thousands of questions & answers but the LOTG always change and/or portions no longer apply. Be SURE to reread the latest version IFAB 2019 - 2020 LOTG

You Call It!

After two years and many request - You Call It is back! Now it's your turn to test your knowledge in a scenario created by our panel of referees. If your answer is spot on we will publish it on our site! Good luck click here!

Law 4 - The Players Equipment 7/7/2020

RE: Alabama State League, Division One. Under 17

John-August of Huntsville , Alabama United States asks...

So if I’m wearing grip socks, do they have to match the color of the uniforms socks or can they be white. Most professionals use white grip socks but referees tell me they have to match the color of my uniform socks. ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/7/2020

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...


one situation please.


Attacker kicks the ball. This ball touches a defender*s body and then his hand, which is over his shoulder level (or makes his body unnaturally bigger).

Q1: Is it offense or not? It does not seem clear to me.

These parts of the rules confuse me.

It is an offence if a player touches the ball with their hand/arm when:

-the hand/arm has made their body unnaturally bigger

-the hand/arm is above/beyond their shoulder level (unless the player DELIBERATELY !!! plays the ball which then touches their hand/arm)

Q2: What if it is unintentional as in my situation?

The above offences apply even if the b...

Read The Full Q & A

Mechanics 7/4/2020

RE: Professional

Fidel Jaary of Auckland, Auckland New Zealand asks...

Hi There,

Does the referee need to keep his hand raised when an offside happens, and the ball played and touched by another player, i had seen some referees do raise their hands to indicate an offside and then drop it.


Read The Full Q & A

Law 5 - The Referee 7/2/2020

RE: Adult

Referee of Aus, NSW Australia asks...

I cant find this in the new rule book. If a player is given permission to leave the field and then wants to re enter during play he can only do so on boundary lines but if ball is out of play then he can enter at anywhere ie goal line. Where is this in the new rules?...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/30/2020

RE: Rec Under 16

Doug Crawford of Moraga, CA US asks...

Well I am not going to ignore the challenge!
In this case, the sub goalie clearly "entered the field without permission", even while told not to, so no excuses.
He is a sub who has interfered with play, denying an obvious goal scoring opportunity.
The sub goalie is off with a red card.
Restart w PK (if the ball contact was in the PA).
Before the law changes 1-2 years ago, I am not sure! It was not too long ago that subs could not be punished for DOGSO.
I think the laws change too often....

Read The Full Q & A

Law 5 - The Referee 6/27/2020

RE: Rec Under 16

Doug Crawford of Moraga, CA US asks...

Goalie down - play continues?
I remember the instructor in my ref class many years ago saying there always has to be a goalie, and play you cannot have a game if the goalie cannot play. I have not heard mention of this factor since then.
In this clip, starting about time 14:52, the goalie is injured during play, or perhaps is suffering from the prior impact before the clip starts. He stays down 10 seconds looking like he expects a whistle in his favor, while the ball is played by both teams in and around the PA. Then the goalie gets up, limps back to goal, and in 10 more seconds the ball appears to be kicked out of play.
At what point should the ref stop play if the goalie cannot con...

Read The Full Q & A

High School 6/26/2020

RE: Competive High School

Steven of Plano, TX US asks...

Team A and B,
Team A has the control of the ball in their backfield. The ball hit the head of a player from Team B badly. So, the referee stops the play.
At restarting, by the rule, the referee gave ball to a player from Team B (last touch). That player followed the spirit of the game to kick (not a strong kick) the ball to the keeper from Team A intentionally.

But, somehow, the keeper from Team A messes up the play and let the ball pass him into the Net.
Does this consider as a goal?

I think so. But, I would like to get more opinions. ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 10 - Determining the Outcome of a Match 6/18/2020

RE: non competitive Adult

George Weagly of Hagerstown, Maryland USA asks...

If a goalie catches a shot and stumbles and is bumped by a team mate and falls into the goal, is it a goal? The ball crossed the score line....

Read The Full Q & A

Law 3 - The Players 5/21/2020

RE: 3 Adult

Pluto of Melbourne, Victoria AU asks...

IFAB Laws of the game 2019/20 states the following: Law 3 Section 5

If a substitution is made during the half-time interval or before extra time,
the procedure must be completed before the match restarts. If the referee is
not informed, the named substitute may continue to play, no disciplinary
action is taken and the matter is reported to the appropriate authorities...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 14 - The Penalty kick 5/19/2020

RE: Rec Adult

Russell Montgomery of Sydney, Australia asks...

Bayern's Robert Lewandowski's converted penalty in the recently resumed Bundesliga match against Union Berlin looked to be coming close to 'feinting' in the approach to the shot.
Might be technically within the LOTG, but I question it is within what the spirit of the law is trying to address.

Read The Full Q & A Educating and Amusing The Soccer Referee Since October 11, 1999

Soccer Referee Extras
Monday, July 13, 2020

Recent Questions

Click Go to view all recently posted questions

VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?

Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer