Law 1 Field of Play
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Explains the various kinds of offences that result in a direct or indirect free kick and specifies the offences for which a player should be cautioned (yellow card) or sent off (red card).

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
Question 1 thru 10 of 6628


Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/28/2020

Rob Mowat of Port Coquitlam , British Columbia Canada asks...

In the trailing minutes of a game, the goalkeeper was sent off on dogso for a ball handling infraction outside the PA.

The play and ball was in their attacking zone. The keeper was well out of the net just inside her half. (They were down ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/26/2020

Laurence Hill of Christchurch , New Zealand asks...

After a free kick was awarded the fouled player threw a punch and the opposition player reacted by grabbing the player who threw the punch by the shirt near but not on his throat. Should this result in a red card to both players or just the player wh...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/22/2020

Demetris of Limassol, Cyprus asks...

Hello there,I like to know your opinion if it was a faul or not on the goalkeeper at 1.20 (Anorthosis v Apollon 1-3 for the Cyprus league dated Sep20) .The goalkeeper seems to hold or touch the ball momentarily with one hand before(or at the same tim...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/20/2020

John of Nicosia, Cyprus asks...


I would like to ask you, when the keeper holds the ball and a player goes and touches the ball with his hands. Is this a penalty or not?

Similar situations to this, are when goalkeeper saves a penalty and his teammates ar...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/19/2020

Tom of Chester, Nj United states asks...

Based on 2019-20 changes lotg..
"When the GK clearly kicks or tries to kick the ball into play, this shows no intention to handle the ball so, if the ‘clearance’ attempt is unsuccessful, the goalkeeper can then handle the ball without committing...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/29/2020

Andy Keen of Hull, East Yorkshire Wngland asks...

A forward player whistles as a defender is about to go for the ball, causing several players to stop believing it to be the referee’s whistle. The forward then nips in to score. Should the goal stand or should a free kick be given and the player caut...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/25/2020

Kano of Linkoping, Sweden asks...

This is a follow-up to question #33974. Let's call that Incident 1.

Before Incident 1. The referee warns he will start distributing cards if the general aggressive atmosphere in the game continues. Mainly coming from the losing team (Team...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/23/2020

Stephen Beckett of Lisburn, Armagh Northern Ireland asks...

Can a goalkeeper punch a back pass from his own player...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/12/2020

Kano of Linkoping, Sweden asks...


In the last minutes of a heated a futsal game, Team A is 2/0 ahead of Team B. Team B are frustrated.

Player from Team A smartly and cleanly steals the ball from player from Team B (almost shoulder to shoulder).

Read The Full Q & A

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/8/2020

Cameron McGowan of Terrasse-Vaudreuil, Quebec Canada asks...

I'm watching Barcelona play Napoli and I am curious as to the reason for the penalty kick that was awarded to Barcelona when Koulibaly tried to clear the ball and struck Messi in the back of the leg. To me, that was not an intentional play on Kouliba...

Read The Full Q & A


Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

VAR (Video Assistant Referee) Questions?

Learn about VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.