- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 35983Law 3 - The Players 7/31/2025Robert of St. Johns , Canada asks...During regular time, a defensive player commits a Direct-Free-Kick foul in their penalty area. The referee blows their whistle to stop play and awards the offensive team with a penalty kick. My question is, can the offensive team make a substitution (assuming they have not used up all of their substitutions) and sub on a player so that that player can take the penalty kick (reminder this is during regular time, not during an end of time penalty shoot out situation)? Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove Hi Robert, Yes, they can. A substitution can be made any time the ball is out of play (again, as long as they have not used up all their subs).
Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove
View Referee Peter Grove profileAnswer provided by Referee Joe McHugh Hi Robert A substitution can be made at any time when play is stopped and the team has not used all its available substitutions. A penalty award is a stoppage in play so a substitution can happen as long as the referee is advised. Indeed it may be necessary such as an injury to a goalkeeper. At Underage a change of goalkeeper may also happen and it is allowed for in the Laws again as long as the referee is informed.
Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh
View Referee Joe McHugh profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35983
Read other Q & A regarding Law 3 - The Players
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|