Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 888

Law 5 - The Referee

RE: High School

Richard of Edmonton, Canada asks...

Green #6 attacker is severely fouled and injured near the edge of the penalty area and has to be removed from further play. No cards are issued and the referee awards a direct free kick and spots the ball directly on the spot where the penalty arc and penalty area lines intercedes. The game ends in a tie but they are ordered by the league to replay the game because a league official viewed the game. Do you understand why this action was taken and did the league official have the right to do so?

Answer provided by Referee miller

The penalty area line is considered to be part of the penalty area. A penal foul committed by the defenders on the penalty area line must result in a PK. The fact that the referee spotted the ball on the PA line indicated his lack of knowledge of the Laws. The competition authorities have the right to take action if they decide the referee has committed an error in interpretation/application of the Laws, but not if they merely disagree with the referee's opinion.



Read other questions answered by Referee miller

View Referee miller profile

Answer provided by Referee Victor Matheson

A replay can be ordered if a referee has made a mistake by the letter of the law. For example, giving an indirect free-kick for a handball instead of a penalty or giving a direct free-kick instead of a penalty kick for a foul committed on the line of the penalty area. However, in order for the replay to be given the referee must have admitted that the foul was on the line. A replay would not be allowed if a referee called the foul outside the area but a league official watching the match (or a video replay) thought the ball was inside. This is a matter of referee opinion and is not a valid reason for a replay.



Read other questions answered by Referee Victor Matheson

View Referee Victor Matheson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 888
Read other Q & A regarding Law 5 - The Referee

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 25054

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>