Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 5342

Law 13 - Free Kicks

John Nathan of Pembroke, Ma USA asks...

The defending team is awarded a direct free kick inside their .own penalty area. The kick goes over their "own" goal line..Is it a corner or a retake? The ball must go beyond the penalty area to be in play, however in this case it went beyond the penalty area to an "out of play area", so it was not kicked directly into play.

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

John if I understand you correctly you ask if direct free kick, having been kicked into play in the outfield, then by some force going directly into that sides own goal is a goal. NO. Law 13 states that if a direct free kick is kicked directly into an opponents' goal, a goal is awarded. It further states that a direct free kicked into a side's own goal is a corner kick. Law 13 is, also, specific in that: if the ball is not kicked into play the kick is retaken. ..The Laws of the Game are written in a simple form. Because of this fact some fall into frames of mind that allow interpretations other than those the writers intended. It is a simple Game, don't make it complex. The out of play area you mention is called touch. The free kick you describe was kicked directly into touch, not into play. ..Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

I read your question differently. I think you are asking if a team is taking a DFK from inside their own penalty area and kick the ball directly over their own goal line without putting the ball in play, what is the restart? If so it's a retake even if they kicked it into the net as it was never put into play.If you are saying they kicked the ball outside their own penalty area but over their own goal line, then the restart would be a corner kick as the ball left the penalty area before going over the goal line



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Sebalja

The area around the net of the goal mouth is not part of the FOP the net is only there to catch the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Sebalja

View Referee Gary Sebalja profile

Answer provided by Referee Fredrikssonk

It is a retake!



Read other questions answered by Referee Fredrikssonk

View Referee Fredrikssonk profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 5342
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>