Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 5026

Law 14 - Penalty kick

john lydon of , asks...

During the taking of a penalty kick the referee allowed the .attacking team to line up outside of the penalty area but closer to the goal than the ball. The kick was taken and the keeper deflected the shot, then the player who was in the illegal position scored off the rebound. The referee signaled a goal but before he restarted the game he relized that the penalty kick was not properly taken and then disallowed the goal and restarted with a goal kick. The referee created a bad situation for himself but, did he do the correct thing?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

I agree with Ref Marco, the kick was not fairly taken. In this case the referee did not ensure all players had taken up positions in accordance with the Law. In allowing the kick to proceed our hapless referee has erred. Not only that but he is not supported by Law in any subsequent action he chooses unless he retakes the kick. Ref Marco has chosen the most logical path, indirect free kick to the opponents of the kicking team as the infraction closely matches one described in Law 14...Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Fredrikssonk

The referee?s decision was correct. Yes the LOTG stipulates that the referee should wait to blew the signal until all player are lined up correctly, however after blowing the signal, no matter whether the players were lined up correctly or not, the referee should not intervene against players taking illegal positions until the penalty kick has been taken. In this case, the attacking player did stand to close. And as such, taking a rebound, the correct call is IFK for the defending team.



Read other questions answered by Referee Fredrikssonk

View Referee Fredrikssonk profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 5026
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>