Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 35927

Law 11 - Offside 6/11/2025

RE: Rec Adult

Bob Williamson of Mesa, AZ United States asks...

As per the "I am a", if it was "I was a" then I would be all of the above.
11.1 states "any part of the head, body or feet is in the opponents half". 11.4 states "If an offside offence occurs, the referee awards an indirect free kick where the offence occurred, including if it is in the players own half of the field of play." How can this be in the offences own half of the field?

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Bob, this can be so because of the unique nature of the offside law. Unlike other offences, offside involves events at two distinct times and in many cases, in two distinct locations. Those two separate events are a) being in an offside position, and b) committing an offside offence.

The wording in section 11.1 that you quote is in a part of the law that defines when a player is in an offside position, whereas 11.4 defines where the IFK takes place after an offside offence occurs.

The critical factor to bear in mind here, is that being in an offside position does not mean an offside offence has occurred. In fact, the the very first sentence of law 11 tells us this, in the following terms:

"It is not an offence to be in an offside position."

So in between the time when the player was in an offside position and the time the player commits an offside offence the player can (and usually does) move to a different location.

The classic scenario - which leads to the apparent paradox you have highlighted - is when a player is in an offside position (and therefore must necessarily be in the opponent's half of the field) but then comes back into their own half before playing the ball or interfering with an opponent.

If it is only after coming back into their own half, that the player commits an offside offence, and given that the IFK is taken from where the offence actually occurred, that IFK then takes place in the player's own half of the field.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Bob
Thanks for the question.
IFAB the law making body wanted to have uniformity across all the Laws in that all free kicks should be taken from the LOCATION of the offence.
Law 11 Offside is a two part offence. Offside location is only one part and the offence is only committed when the player in an offside position interferes with play by touching the ball or interferes with an opponent such as a challenge.
Before the law change the IDFK was taken from the location of the player in an offside position rather than from the location of the actual offence. Most times there is little difference in location yet in situations where a player says comes back from an offside position to interfere with play or an opponent in his own half half the IDFK is taken from the location of the offence that is in his own half.
Many in the game struggle with the change as I still see IDFKs taken well away from the location of the actual offence yet rather from the offside position.
I saw one recently in an international game and the IDFK was taken at the half way in the defenders half rather than some 5 yards further on in the other half.
Not a big deal yet that is what is mandated in Law 11.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35927
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 35930

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>