Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 35596

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/23/2024

RE: competive Under 11

Magnus Thompson of Burlington, Vermont United States asks...

Can a keeper receive/ collect a ball (from the opposition) outside area, dribble back into the area, then pick it up?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Magnus
yes 100% There is no restriction as you stated (from the opposition) , the keeper can exit the PA to collect, then dribble or redirect the ball BACK inside his PA and THEN has the option of PICKING the ball up with their hands if they choose to do so.

ONLY if the ball was deliberately kicked by a team mate with the foot and the sole intention was to get the ball to the keeper is there cause for concern.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Magnus
Yes that is totally legal and it does happen quite a bit where a through ball is over hit by the opponents and the goalkeeper comes out for the ball. If the goalkeeper has sufficient time and space the ball can be dribbled back into the penalty area and picked up legally.

The restriction only applies to a deliberate kick by a team mate to the goalkeeper in which case the restriction of not touching the ball with the hands continues to apply even after dribbling.

Clearly no restrictions apply if the ball is not kicked to the goalkeeper

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35596
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>