Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 35327

Law 13 - Free Kicks 1/15/2024

RE: any level Adult

of Vancouver, BC Canada asks...

Situation: Goalie picked up the ball, put it on the ground then pick it up again resulting in an indirect free kick for attacking team. Can the attacking team quick restart or is that not allowed according to rule books. (assuming referee allows the play)

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright


Yes, the attacking team can take the restart quickly. Attacking team always has the right to a quick free kick, unless the referee needs to intervene.

For instance, if the attacking team has said they'd rather have the wall set up (or if they're clearly not in a rush to take the kick, most refs will take it as granted that they want a wall). A whistle restart is also needed if there is a substitution (though any ref should really be ignoring a sub request if it's just done to try stop a quick kick), or if there is an injury or card, or if the referee has had to intervene for any reason.

Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Well Player from BC.
The legal short answer is YES.
If and it is a big IF, ASSUMING the referee allows the play, the opposition manages to grab the ball, place it stationary on the correct spot and get on with it. WITHOUT ANY REQUESTED OR NEEDED INTERVENTION by the referee!

This is IN MY OPINION, a BLADE of grass restart. BEST conducted as a CERIMONIAL restart for a number of reasons

INDFK inside the PA is generally a frogs breakfast of hippity hops and annoying buzzing flies
Chances are the keeper or defenders will not be respecting the distance or willingly give up the ball.

ANY INDFK within ten yards of the goal line inside the PA itself the defenders MUST be ON the goal line between the posts and under the crossbar. IF the INDFK incident occurs within the goal area itself. The restart INDFK can not be closer than on a goal area boundary parallel line 6 yards away from the goal line. The defenders MUST still be 10 yards in any other direction of the restart spot but in these cases are 6 to 9 yards in front. No defender CAN move towards the ball UNTIL it is KICKED and moved.

The best thing a proactive referee can do in these situations is get in there quickly before the fighting begins as the attackers will be trying to grab the ball out of the keepers' hands, NEVER a good thing, I can assure you! Unlike a PK which is restarted with a referees'. signaling condition, usually a whistle.

The quick restart in active play requires no referee signal BUT best be sure ALL criteria for a FAIR and legal restart are present. INDFKs inside the PA have a notoriously irritable set of conditions. As do some DFKs outside the PA where the opposition has done nothing to really deserve the gift but thanks to an unintended mistake get a scoring opportunity gifted! While a keeper can not be guilty of a DFK for handing inside the PA, illegal use of the hands by the keeper CAN create cartable situations including a red card for DOGSO!

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

It is like any other free kick which can be allowed to be taken quickly provided the ball is at rest and the kick is taken from the correct location. The kicking team have to accept the positions of players who may be closer than 10 yards should they intercept the kick.

However inside the penalty area on these IDFKs I agree with my colleague Referee Dawson it can pose all sorts of problems for the referee. Once the referee gets involved at the kick it becomes ceremonial.

I had this very situation a number of seasons ago in a semi final. I blew for the IDFK after the goalkeeper picked up a deliberate kick to him by a team mate. He was complaining about the decision at a distance and he gave up the ball instantly to an attacker who took the quick free kick just beside the goalkeeper to a team mate who scored. I looked across at the lead AR and he had his flag up for offside so the goal was disallowed for offside. Both sides were not happy then although the goalkeeper’s team came out of the best with no IDFK to defend. lol.
Anyway it was great concentration by the lead AR to be switched on immediately and to see that there was an offside offence from the QFK.
I believe if I had it over again I would not have allowed the QFK due to all the factors at play.

Have a look at this QFK incident
While I do not agree with the pundits opinion such as giving time to organise etc there are a number of things that should have made this ceremonial in my opinion.
1. The referee is in front of the ball blocking the view of defenders.
2. The referee has imposed himself on the situation.
2. The free kick is taken some three yards back from where the offence happened which was on the penalty arc.
Anyway the referee gave the goal much to the consternation of the conceding team. Not sure what officialdom thought of it?

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35327
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>