Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 28200

Law 11 - Offside 2/22/2014

RE: Select Under 13

Margaret Casebeer of Pleasant Hill, Ca United States asks...

This question is a follow up to question 27898

'Sticking a leg out and deflecting the ball does not reset offside.'

Can you clarify this statement. I'm wondering if keeper deliberately kicks ball away, if offside is reset. I'm thinking that it is....

Thanks!

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

HI Margaret
Law 11's 'Gaining an advantage by being in that position' means that it is offside when the ball rebounds or is deflected to the player in an offside position off the goalpost, crossbar or an opponent having been in an offside position or that rebounds, is deflected or is played to her from a deliberate save by an opponent having been in an offside position.
Once the referee determines that the touch by the opponent is a rebound or a deflection then offside still applies. In the case of a goalkeeper /player making a save it is still not a reset even if the ball is played.
It will only reset when the play is deliberate and control has been exerted over the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

A player in offside position may participate in play after an opponent makes a 'deliberate play on the ball' (other than a save). But, she may not participate if the ball only deflects off an opponent.

The first question is whether the opponent's contact with the ball was a 'save' - - if the keeper (or defender) is blocking a shot on goal, then the player in offside position is still ineligible to play the ball. That's a save.

If no shot is involved, the referee needs to decide whether there was a deliberate play (not offside) or a deflection/rebound (offside). That usually will depend on the amount of time and space the defender had to play the ball. Doubts are resolved in favor of 'not offside.'



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 28200
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>