Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 27325

Law 11 - Offside 4/19/2013

RE: Rec Under 14

Joe V of Dallas, Tx Dallas asks...

Is it offsides if an attacking player is in an offsides position but a defender passes the ball to him?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Joe
A player can only be offside when the ball is played / touched by one of his team mates. When the ball is deliberately played by an opponent then it cannot be offside.
It however should not be confused with a ball that is deflected or rebounds from an opponent off a pass by a team mate. The deflection does not reset the offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Dennis Wickham

No. After a defender has full possession and control of the ball, every opponent is eligible to play the ball - - regardless of position.



Read other questions answered by Referee Dennis Wickham

View Referee Dennis Wickham profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

No Joe, and as a referee you absolutely have to understand not only this but ALL of Law 11.
Law 11 is straightforward. Offside is ONLY judged at the moment the ball is touched or played by a teammate. There can never, ever be any offside offense when the ball is passed by an opponent.

A player that is in an offside position at the moment the ball is touched or played by a member of his team is only penalized if he becomes actively involved in play by:
1. Interfering with play
2.Interfering with an opponent
3. Gaining an advantage by being in an offside position.

There can be no offside offense regardless of position if the ball is received directly from a goal kick, corner kick, or throw-in.

Also, there is no "s" at the end of offside.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 27325
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 27437

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>