Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 26951

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 10/27/2012

RE: Rec Under 9

Johnny b of San Antonio, Texas USA asks...

Does a goal shot at the first whistle but goes in before the third whistle in end of regulation count?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Johnny
There is only one whistle and once it sounds the game is over.
Many referees use the three whistle end of game signal to make it different from say calling a foul or ball out of play but the first whistle is what counts.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Jason Wright

Hi Johnny,

As soon as the whistle sounds, the match is over. Don't worry about the length of the whistle, that's just a communication tool to clearly signal what the whistle is for. It's when it's first blown that indicates play is being stopped - and even if the ball is in the air on the way to goal when the whistle is blown, the match is over and a goal cannot be scored.




Read other questions answered by Referee Jason Wright

View Referee Jason Wright profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Play ends when the referee decides that time is up. The ref makes known that decision by blowing the whistle. So actually the game ended a short moment before the whistle sounded - when the referee decided to blow the whistle - and it doesn't matter if the ball goes in the net while the whistle is still sounding.

Also there is no proscribed method of whistling to end the game. Two or three blasts may be traditional, but one will suffice. The whistle sounding means play stops, for whatever reason the whistle is blown (end of time, foul, offside, even a mistake by the ref). Nothing can take place after the whistle sounds.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 26951
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>