Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 24942

Law 11 - Offside 5/14/2011

RE: Competetive Under 14

Mike Tapley of Temecula, CA Riverside asks...

A defender on Team A passes the ball in the air to a player on his team who is in an on-side position when the pass is made. After the pass is made, the forward from Team A moves beyond the last defender to receive the ball, but the ball bounces off the head of the defender from Team B. Is the player offside?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

No. We look at where the attacking players are when the ball is played by a member of their team. When the ball was played by Team A the forward was in an onside position. He is free to go anywhere on the field and play the ball until offside resets and then all the attacking players positions would be re-evaluated. The ball being touched by an opponent does not reset offside. Offside resets when any of the following occur:

1. The ball goes out of play.
2. The ball is controlled by an opponent..
3. The ball is touched or played by a teammate.

But remember that for an offside OFFENSE to happen, the ball has to be last touched or played by a TEAMMATE. So even if the opponent had controlled the ball and reset offside, it would make no difference. When the ball is controlled and played by an opponent, there can be no offside .

Our former editor, mentor,instructor,assessor, and good friend, Major Chuck Fleischer who is dearly missed by us all, wrote a very clear and concise treatise on Law 11 Offside and it is published on our main page. I would suggest you read and study that and if you have any questions get back to us.

Thanks for sending in the question



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Mike
Offside is only judged on the touch of a ball by a team mate not an opponent. So in the scenario you describe it is not offside as when the ball was last touched by the player on Team A, his team mate was in an onside position.
Where he receives the ball or if it touches a defender makes no difference after that.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24942
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>