Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 24652

Law 17 - Corner Kick 3/5/2011

RE: youth Under 17

chris borne of exeter, uk asks...

My team had a goal disallowed by the assistant ref. It was a headed goal direct from a corner. The ref had blown his whistle for the corner to be taken. The assistant said that the ball was not inside or touching the arc when the corner was taken, but surely he should of advised before the corner kick was taken. I have never seen a goal disallowed in the premier league for this offence. Is this correct?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi
The ball must be inside the corner arc for the corner kick to be taken properly. However this on the face of it seems strange as referees rarely if ever blow for a corner kick to be taken unless there was some other situation such as an injury, substitution or a caution before the kick. Usually a whistle is used to stop the kick being taken due to some infringement before the ball is kicked such as pushing in the penalty area.
If the kick is stopped for placement of the ball it is poor mechanics as the AR should not allow the kick to be taken until the ball is properly positioned. Having said that it is possible for the ball to roll out of the arc after being placed properly and before the kick can be stopped by the AR or the player ignored the advice of the AR causing him to raise the flag before the kick was taken.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Yes this is correct. If the ball was not inside the corner arc then the kick was not properly taken. The AR should have tried to stop the kick from proceeding (perhaps he did).



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 24652
Read other Q & A regarding Law 17 - Corner Kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>