Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 23379

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 5/27/2010

RE: Under 18

Sanjay of Bangalore, Karanataka India asks...

Is it a goal when the football passes the goal line in the air & if the goalkeeper without crossing the goal line manage to stop the ball from touching the net?(the ball is in the air)

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Law 9 says, 'The ball is out of play when it has wholly crossed the goal line or touch line whether on the ground or in the air.' If it crosses the portion of the goal line between the goalposts, it is a goal. It doesn't have to touch the net or the ground - only be completely across the line.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Goalkeepers in such situations fervently hope the assistant referee is not in position on the goal line! If the AR is in position, they will see the whole ball cross the goal line, and signal to the referee.

That the keeper caught the ball and brought it back out onto the field is irrelevant as to the fact of whether a goal was scored or not. What is relevant is that the AR be in position or alternatively that the referee be in position to judge whether the whole ball crossed the goal line or not.

If a referee/AR isn't sure, no goal should be awarded, but if they are certain, then it is a fact, and the goal awarded.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Sanjay
When all of the ball crosses over the goal line a goal is awarded. The referee has to judge with the assistance of the assistant referee whether that indeed happened. Clearly there is no doubt when the ball hits the net. Interestingly enough nets are not a compulsory part of the goals.



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 23379
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>