Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 23134

Law 10 - Method of Scoring 4/18/2010

RE: competitive Under 11

Daniel Speller of Bournemouth, England asks...

a goal keeper kicks the ball out of his hands and it goes into the opposition's net. Is it a goal?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

If I understand correctly - red goalkeeper punts the ball from his hands from inside his penalty area and it sails the length of the field into blue's goal, and your question is whether or not it scores? The answer here is definitely yes - and why wouldn't it be? No Law has been broken - the keeper can legally handle the ball inside his PA, the ball is definitely in play, the ball goes from his foot into his opponent's goal. Voila! Goal.




Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Gene Nagy

Daniel, I am sure Sir Alex has already been put on alert about this U-11 kid who can punt the ball from his hand and score a goal from his own penalty area, at least 82 yards down the field, accurately into the opponents net. Of course it would be a goal! Before you ask us, he could also score directly from a kickoff or from a goal kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gene Nagy

View Referee Gene Nagy profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Daniel
Yes it a goal. There has been a few over the years. One of the first to be televised was Pat Jenning's goal while playing in goals for Tottenham Hotspurs v Manchester united in the 1967 FA Charity Shield.
You can view it here

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m9vVeYGmVWg



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 23134
Read other Q & A regarding Law 10 - Method of Scoring

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>