- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 17156Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 10/7/2007RE: rec Under 9 Jim Van Schaick of Baldwin, NY usa asks...today, the ball was called out of bounds. it was in the goal keeper's possession, and within the field of play. the goal keeper's back foot touched the goal line. i claimed that in bounds or out was determined by the position of the ball, but the ref insisted that the ball was out for a corner kick because the goalie touched the endline with her foot. help. Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino I hope you misunderstood the referee. No referee should get this wrong. It's where the BALL is not the body as you state. Since this was Rec under 9 maybe you didn't have a certified referee or a football (pointy type) referee helping out
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Jim, the only way we can help here is to ask you to PLEASE contact the referee's assignor and tell him what you told us. That is the only way to help the referee correct their incorrect assertion. Good luck!
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson HI Jim, While I do not like to see coaches argue wth young referees nearest help you refer this matter with the referee assignore educator within your league and hopefully this referee can be reeducated. Plus get your certification as well you are spot on, the WHOLE of the ball must be COMPLETELY over the boundrylines. Any contact be it in the air or onthe ground if the curve of the ball overhangs or contacts the 5 inch line invisable wall extending upward it is within that field of play. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Jim you are correct. Be happy in being correct. To be correct and try telling any referee you are correct is never a good thing because you teach your players the wrong way to offer correction. Writing us is a right way of offering correction because you may then print our response and the reasons we offer to validate our opinions and submit them to your league for corrective action to be taken. When you mention to the referee something differing from that referee's opinion you have forgotten two things about this Game, you are in the technical at the referee's pleasure and the referee is right.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 17156
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|