Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16737

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 9/17/2007

RE: Challenge Under 14

Jeffrey Dale of Cary, NC United States asks...

If the ball touches the netting on the outside of the goal is the ball considered out of bounds?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Yes, provided the ball is fully across the goal line, it is out of play. I suppose there could be some weird confluence of forces that might allow a ball to touch the netting and rebound back onto the field without having been completely over the line.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

If the netted area is afixed properly and fastened from the back of the 5 inch post stretched back then as long as no post is included in the rebound the ball would be over the goal line thus out of play. Mind you loose netting at the top hanging down or over the sides should be addressed before the start up of the match! Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Don't even think about the net when it comes to this topic. All you need to decide is whether or not the ball has wholly (100%) crossed the whole goal line (100%) in the air or on the ground. If that has happened then it is out of play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If the ball was completly over the goal line, then yes. Otherwise no. The net however should not extend onto the field. If it does, then the referee needs to take care of it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16737
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>