Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16599

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 9/8/2007

RE: Rec Under 14

T of Denver, Colorado USA asks...

Keeper stops a shot at the end line and stumbles backward with ball in hand, one foot crosses the end line but the ball remains in the field of play. Referee called a corner kick for the opposing team.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

If the ball doesn't go completely across the line, it is still in play. It doesn't matter where the player's body parts are. Play would not be stopped in that case.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Law 9 - The Ball In and Out of Play tells us the ball is out of play when it has wholly crossed the goal line or touch line whether on the ground or in the air or play has been stopped by the referee. In the case you ask about the ball has done neither. Play continues.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

My colleagues are absolutely correct. I would only like to add that you need to find out who assigns this referee and tell them what you told us. If the referee doesn't hear what he did was wrong from his assignor/assessor/instructor fellows, he likely will not believe he made an error or worse, know to not do it again. This fact about the ball being in play as long as some part of it is still within the plane of the field is very plain in the Laws of the Game, if one only took the time to read them.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16599
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>