Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 15907

Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 6/28/2007

RE: Rec Under 16

Bernie Nuguen of Ottawa, ON Canada asks...

The goaltender on one team makes a save within the penality box but near the end line. The ball rests on the line but not out even though the goaltender is completely out of bounds. The referee recognizes the ball is still in play and keeps his whistle in his pocket. The goaltender stands up lifting the ball off the ground. The ball is still above the end line but has not completely crossed the line.

The referee calls the ball out because the goaltender has lifted it off the ground and the goaltenders feet are out of bounds.

Correct call or not?

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

No. It is always the point of the ball that matters. Since the ball had not crossed the plane of the line, it is still in play. All of the ball must be completly over the whole line.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

With respect to Ref Mueller, the decision is correct! Why, the referee made it. It is a fact connected with play and his word is final. That is the condition under which you play in that match that day. Apparently the referee was of the opinion the whole of the ball crossed the whole of the line.

Perhaps he had a better view than you did, you were in the technical area, correct? If he based his decision on the fact the ball was not in contact with the ground then his decision was based on incorrect information. That, however, doesn't change the fact a referee is right, right or wrong a referee is right AND no amount of carping can change that.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Perhaps the ref thought the keeper pulled the ball back completely over the line as he lifted it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

If all is as you say, a truly horrible call, one any referee should get right.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Not.

The ball was still in play - this isn't basketball or football.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

The ball is not required to touch the goal line. Consider this in fact any BOUNDRY line as a 5 inch wide invisable wall extending straight up to the sky IF in the opinion of the referee or AR that any part of that ball is inside of that 5 inch invisable wall so much as the tiny outer curve of its very edge that ball is in play!

If the referee called a ball out because of a FOOT position he needs some recertification. If he thinks the ball must be in physical contact with the boundry line even more retraining.
It is a basic principle the lines are part of the field they encompass and any portion of the ball that breaks that 5 inch plane that is where the ball is considered to reside!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 15907
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>