- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 13683Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/6/2006RE: Grade 8 Adult Daniel of Conway , AR USA asks...This question is a follow up to question 13256 On a throw-in it sounds like if the thrower while attempting to throw the ball into play is still touching the ball as it crosses the plane of the touchline then the AR should raise their flag and signal a foul on the thrower for delibrately handling the ball? Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer No, the throw is not complete until the ball leaves the thrower's hands. This is another unwritten part of The Game, you're just expected to know this. I discuss this when I qualify referees obviously your instructor did not.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Daniel!! Where did you get your referee instruction? This is very basic. Thrower is never considered to be guilty of deliberately handling the ball while making the throw.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller No, throw is complete once he lets the ball go. I have seen players release ball and then touch ball with hands a split second after it has been released. This can be a deliberate handball.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 13683
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|