- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 13095Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 6/19/2006RE: REC Adult PAUL of TORONTO, ON CANADA asks...THE GOAL KEEPER STOPPED THE BALL WITH HIS HANDS WHILE HE WAS INSIDE THE GOAL LINE,IS THAT CONSIDERED A GOAL? Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The whole of the ball must cross the whole of the goal line under the cross bar and between the posts for a goal to be scored. Law 10 also requires no infringement of the Laws of the Game by the team scoring the goal. One other thing is needed some member of the referee crew must see the ball across the goal line in REAL TIME, not replay time...
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino I don't know what you mean. Is he off the field of play inside the net? If so, why is he there? The keeper may during the normal course of play leave the field of play. If he stopped the ball from crossing the goal then no way could it be a goal. If he was illegally off the field of play he would be punished for misconduct but you cannot award a goal unless the ball crosses the all of the goal line in accordance with Law 10. this is like asking if the ball is about to go into the net and a fan stops it do you award a goal? The answer is no you don't. You restart with a dropped ball but never can award a goal based on what you THINK would have happened.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson I will assume you mean the keeper is inside the netted area of the actual goal in behind the goalline? Where the position of the keeper is could easily occur in dynamic play and is not illegal. The keeper is allowed the use of his hands inside his PA. The ball must be inside the PA for this to occur. The goal line is 5 inches wide and the ball is about 12 inches. As long as part of the ball manages to break the plane of the back edge of that goaline that ball is IN play and no goal is yet scored. THe keeper hands on the ball at this point are keeping the ball out of the goal EVEN though it may appear most of the ball is in behind the posts . ALL Of the ball must be seen completely past the 5 inch line either in the air or on the ground. Remember the ball is curved so that rounded portion will still be considered breaking the 5 inch plane even if the ball itself is not actually able to touch the goalline if it was on the ground.
ONCE ALL Of the ball has crossed over no matter where the keeper 's hands are a goal is scored provided there were no other infringements and the officiating crew was properly positioned to see it as so! In real time a quick bang in bang out ball that could have been in or only very close will always have a no goal decision if the officials are unsure! Thems the breaks1 Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 13095
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|