Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 13015

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 6/11/2006

RE: Rec College

Corey of Dublin, OH USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 12385

Would then a goalie standing with two feet outside the box, say in front it, facing his own goal with arms stretched over the penalty area and ball in hand be violating the handling rule?

Answer provided by Referee Mike Gartenhaus

corey, illegal handling by the goal keeper is determined by where the ball and his hands are, not where the keeper's feet or body are.
If the ball is inside the penalty area, there is no foul.
Thanks for writing.



Read other questions answered by Referee Mike Gartenhaus

View Referee Mike Gartenhaus profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Look to where the ball is, nothing else. This is not basketball, or gridiron football when a foot just touching a field boundary, with the ball 2 feet inside the boundary, stops play. Where is the ball, if inside the penalty area [any part of the ball touching or over a line of the penalty area] it may be handled by the goalkeeper, given no other violation of Law 12.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Ignnore EVERYTHING other than where the ball is. If the ball is inside his own penalty area, the keeper may handle it.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 13015
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>