- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 12191Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 2/12/2006RE: Competetive Division One Under 16 John Mauthner of Tampa, Florida USA asks...I have two variations of the same question:
1) The right forward charged the right corner, turned and crossed the ball to the goal. As the ball approached the goal it bounced off of the top bar back and away from the field of play. The ball continued flight behind the goal and a defender brought the ball back into the field of play just prior to the ball hitting the ground. The inflight ball was about one foot behind the back of the goal line. I was standing at the goal line with the sideline referee when the call was made.
The referee allowed the play to continue. I was confused, because I thought that the ball was out of bounds when it clearly passed behind the goal and goal line. Please, clarify.
2) Same question, different twist. The ball is crossed by the right forward as in my first example. However, instead of the defense bringing the ball back into play, the left forward brought the ball into play and shot a goal.
Does this constitute a valid goal since the ball clearly passed behind the goal and the goal line? Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson If the ball on the ground or in the air completely crosses the boundrylines out of play into touch, play is stopped and a restart for why the ball left and who last touched it is automatically initiated. You have every right to be confused if the referee (SAW the situation as you described) did not do this as he is required to do in law! 1st and 2nd senario are the same answer. If the ball is SEEN to go out of play by the (AR or referee) no legal goal or continued play is permissable! Play must stop and resume with a goal kick ,corner kick or a throw in. (Pointy ball) Football goals often cause these types of incidents as the extra metal sticking up or out is not part of a regulation goal. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino 1. The ball is out of play when ALL of the ball crosses ALL of the endline (or touch line) either in the air or on the ground. If, as you say, the ball was a clear foot over the end line. The assisstant referee made a mistake.2. See answer to #1. Doesn't matter as ball was out of play.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 12191
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|