- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 12131Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 2/2/2006RE: rec Adult richard nguyen of santa ana , ca united States asks...can the goal keeper throw the (by hand) to his teamates inside the 18 yards box. Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino I assume you mean throw the ball? Yes, he can do anything he wants with the ball by hand inside his penalty area short of throwing it AT someone with the intention of harming them. I'm not sure i understand your question. The keeper must give up control of the ball once he handels it within six seconds
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson HI Richard, if a keeper has the ball in his posession using his hands we wil assume that play is live and he has 6 seconds to decide after which he must release the ball. ONLY on the restart, be it INDFK or DFK or goalkick, defending free kicks originating inside a keepers penalty area MUST the ball travel outside the penalty area to be in play.
A dropball restart could the place a ball in the keepers hands as could a save on a PK or any free kick by the attackers as well as a save during dynamic play. The keeper can do with the ball as he wishes including throwing it within his own PA to a teammate or a mighty toss into the opposing goal if he had such strength. As my colleague points out as long as the thrown ball is handled by the keeper inside his own PA and is not used as a weapon play on ! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 12131
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|