- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 12086Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 1/22/2006RE: Select Under 14 Tony Martinez of Marysville, washington United States asks...In a recent game my daughter took a corner Kick, the ball traveled to the back post and was put in by a teammate. the AR quickly called it off. Her explanation was the "the ball went over the end line in the air and hooked back into play" which it did rather nicely. Is this really a rule? i have never heard of it or seen it in any rule book. Thanks for clarifying this Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino yes. The ball is out of play when it entirely crosses either end line or touch line on the ground or in the air. It's in the first sentence in Law #9 in The Laws of the Game.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Tony, the boundrylines surrounding the field are a 5 inch invisable wall stretching upwards. While it is an opinion of course, once the corner kick is taken if a referee or the AR are convinced the ball is travelling outside of that goalline's 5 inch wall during its flight into the penalty area, the ball is out of play and a restart GOAL KICK is in order. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 12086
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|