Law 1 Field of Play
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Law 11 - Offside
Question 231 thru 240 of 2416

[Previous] [Next]

Law 11 - Offside 5/20/2018

mary ramirez-de-arellano of damascus, maryland USA asks...

In the book 'Preventive Officiating by Randy Vogt' I just read the following:

'Even though players cannot be offside from a goal kick, offside could possibly be called if a teammate receives the ball directly from the goalkeeper's dis...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 5/6/2018

George of Parangarecutirimicuaro, CA Sacratomato asks...

Attacker is fouled just outside the box. A teammate, who is in the offside position, stands right in front of the goalie. The kick is taken. As the ball goes in for a goal, CR blows his whistle for the obstruction. After the game, there is a friendly...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 5/3/2018

GREGOR GRAMLICH of LARGO, FL United States asks...

I need some clarification on this portion of Law 11: A PIOP receiving the ball from an opponent, who deliberately plays the ball, is not considered to have gained an advantage.

Scenario:

1. An attacking player plays a thru-ball to a...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 4/30/2018

Jeffrey Atkins of Morristown, Tennessee United States asks...

I agree with all of the answers given by the panel, but was the forward not already involved in play by interfering with the goalkeeper?

Dave said 'the keeper reacted quickly' and described both players as 'at full sprint.'

It seems...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 4/24/2018

Dave Bermingham of Herndon, Virginia United States asks...

In one of my games this past weekend there was a fast forward playing off the defender's shoulder trying to time runs in behind. At one point she was PIOP just inside the attacking half on the AR side as the ball was passed in behind. The keeper re...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 4/23/2018

Fuzesy Anatol of Sighetu M., Romania asks...

Hello, https://www.digisport.ro/fotbal/liga-1/astra-fcsb-live-video-2045-digi-sport-1-ros-albastrii-condamnati-sa-castige-428948, i have a question about second goal. Why player with no.9 isn't considered as interfering with play sinde capp is going ...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 4/14/2018

Keith T of Las Vegas, NV USA asks...

On a windy day the GK made a high save with a PIOP. The ball went off the cross bar but due to the wind and spin, the GK made what I deemed a 2d save. The ball then fell to the PIOP and I flagged offside. Those 2 "saves" dont somehow reset the offsi...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 4/14/2018

Russell of Sydney, Australia asks...

I think removing the offside rule would be counter productive to the intension of doing so - in the professional game, and, even in the higher levels of there grass roots games.

Being able to keep a player in an advance position in the game,...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 4/12/2018

AG Hagan of Reykjavik, Reykjavik Iceland asks...

So if player is in offside position and the goalkeeper punches the ball forward (not save) and it hits teammate and then goes to the offside player you would consider that to be an offside?
...

Read The Full Q & A

Law 11 - Offside 4/11/2018

AG Hagan of Reykjavik, Reykjavik Iceland asks...

In a game between Man City and Liverpool in the Champions league, Leroy Sane was ruled offside. Was that correct decision? Some people, including journalist from Liverpool Echo, say Milner did not thouch the ball deliberately. Does that matter in thi...

Read The Full Q & A

[Previous] [Next]

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>