Soccer Rule Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login
Soccer Referee Questions on Soccer Rules

You-Call-It 92

Question...

It is a miserable day wet and windy. The defender attempts a throw only 6 feet from his corner flag back towards his Keeper but it's a poor one, the ball kind of slips and hit the wet ground in a puddle of sorts taking the momentum away. Looking like an attacker might first get there the thrower rushes in and with the ball located about 5 yards from the corner flag and 5 feet from the goal line hook kicks the ball away towards the corner arc trying to put it into touch for a throw-in but it exits over the goal line just a few feet from the corner arc. As the referee, you stop play, the attacking player set the ball up in the corner arc and proceeds to take it quickly and they score. Before the kick-off, the defender's captain comes over and says that was an INDFK offense you cannot count that goal. OR can you? Your match, your decision, your resputation

Our Hint

LAW 5 8 12 17 advantage does it apply? No restart still time to change a decision about the goal but can or should you go back to the double touch

Our Answer...

That was our Question YOUR Answer is...

AskTheref.com Educating and Amusing The Soccer Referee Since October 11, 1999

<-->
Soccer Referee Extras
Sunday, May 26, 2024

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

<>

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Recent Questions



Click Go to view all recently posted questions