Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 35388

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/17/2024

RE: Amateur Adult

nick hills of pontefract, yorks United Kingdom asks...

If a player is wearing 2 club shirts,both identical,is it still a booking if he takes 1 off in celebration?

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Nick
Yes it is still an offence to remove the shirt or covering the head with the shirt after scoring a goal even if there is an identical shirt underneath.

Having said that a covert removal might get missed yet we know that it is rarely covert celebrations with players waving a shirt about above the head. I believe I have seen players retrieve a match jersey for a celebration rather than removing their own.

In the Man Utd v Leverpool FA Cup game a Utd player was dismissed for a 2nd caution for removing his shirt at a goal celebration. He had a full size red undershirt on yet that made no difference

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Nick
technically yes caution.
I was never sure why if considered an excess celebration or a form of disrespect to certain cultures and exposing chest flesh. I noted it became a big deal when the woman started doing it lol
However, truth be told truth at grassroots likely laugh my butt off! He could simply say he was hot and just removing the extra covering if indeed it was an exact match below.

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 35388
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site are welcomed! <>