Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000


Panel Login

Question Number: 34212

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 5/2/2021

RE: Semi-pro Adult

Ignas Repecka of Kaunas, Kaunas Lithuania asks...

Hello,

Quick question. Goalkeeper catches a cross and when kicking the ball out, hits teammates (who is in the box) hand is it a penalty? The teammate is not facing the goalie and his hand is in natural position next to the body.


Thank you for answers.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Ignas,
in my opinion not likely.
It's an accidental contact although the keeper could legally grab the ball again as it has touched another player I say play on!
The interesting thing is if it was an opponent and the ball deflected back off the hand for a goal or a shot resulted in a goal due to that contact, no goal but the defenders get a dfk out! sigh oh those wacky LOTG changes! lol
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Ignas
Thanks for the question
As described it is not deliberate handling by a defender so a referee will allow play to continue. It is highly unlikely that in any circumstances that it is an offence by a defender as it could only be accidental. There is no reason for a defender to do this deliberately so it is play on.
It is only an offence if the same event was to happen to an attacker who by this handling action has perhaps created a goal scoring opportunity. It may seem unfair that one is not penalised yet the other is yet the lawmakers do not want situations where the ball comes off a hand even accidentally to score a goal or create a goal scoring opportunity. They also do not want to penalise accidental contact of the ball in all other situations except as stated in the goal or goal scoring situations.
I hope that helps



Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34212
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef



This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.