Soccer Referee Resources
Ask a Question
Recent Questions

Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick

Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School

Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef

Soccer Rules Changes 1580-2000

Panel Login

Question Number: 34181

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 3/30/2021

Petr of Prague, Czech Republic Czech Republic asks...

I have one interesting situation.

In today's match the Czech Republic vs. Wales Patrik Schick received red card for a punch in the face. It happened in the Welsh penalty area. Previously, players held on to each other. The Welsh defender also received a yellow card. The only thing he did wrong was holding. Whistle was after Schick's punch.

Why did he get a yellow card? Was it a simultaneous foul? It seems to me that otherwise it would be a penalty kick. :-)


Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Petr
It was rather bizarre, the Wales Keeper has the ball, and Roberts and Schick are playing patty cakes. I heard a whistle, the Referee was aware of the interaction based on his line of sight & possibly received confirmation from the AR. It was clear the referee showed the yellow card to Roberts once he regained his feet and then moved over and showed a direct red to Schick. I will assume the weak headshot to the face was considered VC and that they were both equally guilty of USB just prior to that? The head snap & chin grab by Roberts was delayed about a 9 .2 on the diving scale of sellability so possibly the extra acting job was the yellow? I suspect the restart was a free-kick out for Wales? If the stoppage was for the injury then a restart is a drop to the keeper!

You are correct, if indeed Conner had fouled Schick with a reckless action like holding and Schick only reacted with VC then a PK would have been a correct restart even as the Chezks go down a man. The irony of Roberts getting the 2nd caution for a chicken wing elbow that seemed more of a shoulder rest than a cheek smash, but credit the Chezk player for ensuring the severity of the action was well played up a good 9.3 lol .

Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Petr
My take on it was that the Czech player # 10 Schick was involved with the Welsh #14 Roberts in an aerial challenge for the ball in the penalty area and there was arm contact by # 10 Schick on the head of #14 in that challenge after being manhandling by Roberts. The ball was caught cleanly by the Welsh goalkeeper yet there was "afters" involving both players.

Roberts #14 then seems to remonstrate immediately with Schick #10 on the head contact. Yellow #10 then raises his arm / hand in and around the face of #Red 14 who goes to ground holding his face.
Obviously the referee seen the action by Yellow #10 as violent conduct for which he was dismissed. Red #14 was cautioned for unsporting behaviour for his involvement in the incident. He later received a second yellow for a raised arm in an aerial challenge on an opponent for which he was dismissed.

Law 12 tells us that and I quote "In addition, a player who, when not challenging for the ball, deliberately strikes an opponent or any other person on the head or face with the hand or arm, is guilty of violent conduct unless the force used was negligible."

So the referee here decided that the contact was deliberate and not negligible hence the red card. Whether it was or not is a matter of opinion and the opinion of the referee is all that matters.
On the scale of violent conduct it is pretty low and perhaps on another day a referee may have gone with a yellow. Raising an arm toward the head of an opponent is always going to run the high risk of a card as even an attempt to strike is VC.

What this video and others show is that players at the highest level play up the severity of any contact as they know it could result in either a caution or a red card.

Anyway #14 Roberts gets a second yellow probably based on the reaction of his opponent for which he can have little complaint given he did it in the earlier incident.

Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 34181
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.

Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer

Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef

This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.