- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 14999Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play 3/17/2007RE: Competitive Adult Gord Quinlan of Saskatoon , Saskatchewan Canada asks...Ball lying on the 18 yard line and part of it is out of the penalty area and part is on the line. The keeper reaches out over the ball and pulls the ball back in by making contact with the ball on the part that is out of the penalty area?
hand ball or not?
Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The ball is within the penalty area. Handles the ball deliberately (except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area) is foul play.
There is no foul play, even though some referees, Graham Poll included, whistle a stoppage and restart with a direct free kick.
Question for you: the ball is on the goal line or touch line in the manner you describe. In play or not? Same logic applies...
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Not a foul. As long as any part of the ball is touching the line, it is INSIDE the penalty area.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller The lines define the boundaries in which they enclose and the lines are part of the boundaries. Thus the ball was in the penalty area and the keeper can handle the ball. No foul!
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 14999
Read other Q & A regarding Law 9 - The Ball in and out of Play
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|