Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

RSS FEED Subscribe Now!

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School
Other


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef
Panel Login

Question Number: 33863

Law 11 - Offside 2/2/2020

RE: International Adult

Lek Unok of Hua Hin, Prachuabkhirikhan Thailand asks...

In the recent USWNT vs Haiti Olympic Qualifying game, Haiti had a goal disallowed, apparently for offside according to the commentary. The assistant referee does seem to be making the flag signal for an offside offence but the ball came in from a corner kick.

See action starting at 1:28 in the video below.

Was this a correct decision? Was there anything other than offside that you can see, that the goal could have been ruled out for?

https://youtu.be/QquJEsSEy9E

Answer provided by Referee Joe McHugh

Hi Lek
Oh oh big error I'm afraid
It cannot be offside as it is a corner kick and even if the Haiti player is in an offside position it just cannot be offside as the ball in fact touches no one else other than the scorer.
Also I do not see anything else that could be called and it looks like an offside flag to me
So if that is the case and it certainly looks that way it is a huge error and one that has serious consequences for the referee crew from Jamaica.




Read other questions answered by Referee Joe McHugh

View Referee Joe McHugh profile

Answer provided by Referee Peter Grove

Hi Lek,
I'm sorry to say that seems like an inexplicable error.

As ref McHugh says, it can't be offside because it's a corner kick and there is no sign I can see of any other potential offence. I can only speculate that the AR may have got too focused in on the fact that a player in an offside position had obstructed the goalkeeper's line of vision and forgot that the ball was coming in from a corner, where there can be no offside offence.

Having tried to find some information about this, it seems the assistant referee in question has been sent home from the competition because of this mistake.



Read other questions answered by Referee Peter Grove

View Referee Peter Grove profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 33863
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 33885

Google
Web AskTheRef.com
Soccer Referee Extras


Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer


Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef





This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members.